This is one of my macro style photos; aiming to capture the details of the feather, as well as strong colours through the use of compsore and selective lighting

To achieve this, I used a number of techniques:

  • I selected a good angle, pretty much resting the camera on the feathers
  • Then added some additional light, boosting the reds, oranges and yellow as well as accentuating the contours of the feather
  • Following this I set my ISO to low, reducing noise.


My Personal critique:

The colours in this picture are very rich, deep. There is also a good contrast which drastically improves the image.

Framing and composure is decent, perhaps a slight cropping at the top right would improve this

The level of detail in the photo is nice, with the centre being sharpest and most detailed. The texture is really clear at that point

In terms of achieving its aim, I think this photo has done well. It capturing the colour and the detail to a high standard

To improve: I would crop the top right hand corner of the picture, to fill the entire frame with feather

Do you have any comments or feedback?  Leave them below, or on my Flickr page.

